• WisPolitics

Saturday, June 04, 2011

 1:04 PM 

WisPolitics.com: Straw poll: Dem activists back Feingold for Senate, governor

MILWAUKEE -- Activists attending the state Democratic Party convention June 3-4 favored former U.S. Sen. Russ Feingold over other potential rivals whether he runs for an open Senate seat next year or for governor, according to the annual convention straw poll conducted by WisPolitics.com.

Feingold received 254 of the 573 votes cast in the straw poll question on who delegates, alternates and registered guests want to be the party’s next nominee for governor. GOP Gov. Scott Walker’s term is up in 2014, though there is a planned effort to try recalling him next year.

Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett, who lost to Walker in 2010, placed a distant second with 99 votes.

In the Senate straw poll question, Feingold received 271 votes, while U.S. Rep. Tammy Baldwin was backed by 187 activists.

Democratic U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl is retiring at the end of his term next year, and Feingold has said he'll make a decision on a possible run by Labor Day. Baldwin, D-Madison, said she planned to decide by mid-July.

In all this year, 573 ballots were cast by the more than 2,200 delegates, alternates and guests who attended the convention.

At the recent state Republican convention in Wisconsin Dells, former state Sen. Ted Kanavas beat Tommy Thompson in the WisPolitics.com convention straw poll.

WisPolitics.com is an independent, non-partisan news service based in Madison. Go to http://demconvos.wispolitics.com/ to see the state Democratic convention blog for more news from the gathering.

Neither state party endorses the straw poll.

Here are results from the June 3-4 straw poll at the state Democratic convention in Milwaukee:

**Who should be the party’s next nominee for governor?

Peter Barca 47
Tom Barrett 99
Kevin Conroy 2
Jon Erpenbach 51
Kathleen Falk 23
Russ Feingold 254
Ron Kind 45
Barb Lawton 21
Mark Miller 9
Write-in 22

**If the primary for U.S. Senate were today, whom would you support?
Tammy Baldwin 187
Russ Feingold 271
Steve Kagen 28
Ron Kind 73
Tim Sullivan 3
Write-in 11

-- By Staff


<< Back to Dem Convo Blog main page


wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


Updates from WisPolitics.com on Wisconsin's participation in Democratic conventions.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Dem Convo Blog site feed


· Democratic Party of Wisconsin website
· DPW convention page
· Convention agenda
· Convention hotel


· June 2005
· June 2006
· June 2007
· July 2007
· June 2008
· August 2008
· June 2009
· June 2010
· May 2011
· June 2011
· June 2012
· August 2012
· September 2012
· May 2013
· June 2013
· May 2014
· June 2014
· May 2015
· June 2015
· May 2016
· June 2016
· July 2016
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications