• WisPolitics

Saturday, June 13, 2009

 10:44 AM 

Delegates elect Tate, Schroeder, other officers by voice vote

Delegates elected Mike Tate chair and Melissa Schroeder vice chair this morning by voice vote as Lena Taylor's attempts to retain her post as the party's No. 2 leader failed to materialize.

Taylor had hoped to mount a write-in campaign to keep her 1st vice chair post, which she's held for the past two years. She failed to turn her papers in by the party deadline, keeping her off the ballot. But she showed up this weekend encouraging delegates to cross Schroeder's name off the ballot and write hers in.

The party did nominations and seconds for those candidates who had filed to run by the deadline, including Tate, Schroeder, Jef Hall for re-election as 2nd vice-chair, Angela Sutkiewicz for re-election as party secretary and Michael Childers for re-election as party treasurer

Following the nominations and candidate speeches, a delegate moved unanimous consent from the convention to elect the candidates who had met the deadline and properly filed out their paperwork.

No one raised any objections to the motion, and it passed on a voice vote.

UPDATE: Taylor said after the vote that the party made it clear in its actions that it was not going to allow delegates to "vote their opinion." She decided against objecting to the unanimous consent motion and instead said she wanted to focus on moving the party forward.

"We decided to do a graceful exit and keep the party unified," Taylor said.

-- By JR Ross


<< Back to Dem Convo Blog main page


wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


Updates from WisPolitics.com on Wisconsin's participation in Democratic conventions.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Dem Convo Blog site feed


· Democratic Party of Wisconsin website
· DPW convention page
· Convention agenda
· Convention hotel


· June 2005
· June 2006
· June 2007
· July 2007
· June 2008
· August 2008
· June 2009
· June 2010
· May 2011
· June 2011
· June 2012
· August 2012
· September 2012
· May 2013
· June 2013
· May 2014
· June 2014
· May 2015
· June 2015
· May 2016
· June 2016
· July 2016
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications