• WisPolitics

Wednesday, June 27, 2007

 4:03 PM 

No prez candidates at Dem convo

Unlike the Republicans, who were able to draw two second-tier presidential candidates to their event -- Kansas Sen. Sam Brownback and former Wisconsin Gov. Tommy Thompson -- the Democrats weren't able to draw any of the candidates from their presidential field. The last time the Dems had a speaker with even tenuous ties to the presidential race (outside of U.S. Sen. Russ Feingold) was 2005, when Indiana Sen. Evan Bayh was the Friday keynote speaker.

Gov. Jim Doyle will be the keynote speaker this year. Feingold, D-Middleton, and Lt. Gov. Barbara Lawton will also address the convention on Friday, along with state legislators. Congressional delegation members will speak over the weekend as their schedules permit. U.S. Sen. Herb Kohl, D-Milwaukee, Secretary of State Doug La Follette and state Treasurer Dawn Marie Sass will appear on Saturday.

"When it became fairly obvious that the major candidates for president were not going to states that have primaries after February 5, we wanted to move toward celebrating the successes we've had with the governor being re-elected, and taking control in the Senate and making big gains in the Assembly," DPW Chairman Joe Wineke said. "We could have gone out and gotten some name, some governor from somewhere or something, but that really didn't fit our goal."


Friday, June 29

6:30 p.m. Call to order
Presentation of colors & pledge National Anthem

7:00 p.m. Welcome: Milwaukee County Party Chair Martha Love
Mayor Tom Barrett
State chair's report: Joe Wineke
1st vice chair's report: Lena Taylor

7:20 p.m. State Assembly Democratic Leader Jim Kreuser
State Senate Democratic Leader Judy Robson
State Treasurer Dawn Marie Sass
Secretary of State Doug LaFollette

7:50 p.m. Congresswoman Tammy Baldwin
Members of our congressional delegation

8:30 p.m. Senator Russ Feingold
Lt. Gov. Barb Lawton
Keynote speaker: Gov. Jim Doyle

Saturday, June 30

8:30 a.m. Platform and resolutions debate

9:30 a.m. Convention reports

10:00 a.m. Senator Herb Kohl
Congressman Steve Kagen
Members of Wisconsin's congressional delegation
Paulette Garin, candidate for Congress, 1st district
Marge Krupp, candidate for Congress, 1st district
Steve Herr, candidate for Congress, 1st district

11:00 a.m. Announcement of raffle winners
Platform and resolutions debate continues

12:00 (approx.) Convention adjourns


<< Back to Dem Convo Blog main page


wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


Updates from WisPolitics.com on Wisconsin's participation in Democratic conventions.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Dem Convo Blog site feed


· Democratic Party of Wisconsin website
· DPW convention page
· Convention agenda
· Convention hotel


· June 2005
· June 2006
· June 2007
· July 2007
· June 2008
· August 2008
· June 2009
· June 2010
· May 2011
· June 2011
· June 2012
· August 2012
· September 2012
· May 2013
· June 2013
· May 2014
· June 2014
· May 2015
· June 2015
· May 2016
· June 2016
· July 2016
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications