• WisPolitics

Friday, June 09, 2006

 3:02 PM 

WisPolitics Straw Poll Returns

WisPolitics is again conducting a straw poll at this year's convention, as an unofficial gauge of grassroots support for Democratic candidates. This year's poll includes questions on the attorney general primary, the secretary of state primary and the 2008 presidential election. The results will be counted by WisPolitics staff and released at www.wispolitics.com on Saturday, June 10.

The straw poll is not officially sanctioned by the Democratic Party of Wisconsin and is run solely by WisPolitics.com.

As in past years, WisPolitics.com will allow all official convention attendees to vote. See below for full straw poll rules.

Last year, Kathleen Falk and Russ Feingold both emerged winners in a WisPolitics.com straw poll of activists at the Wisconsin Democratic Party convention.

Of the 299 ballots submitted for attorney general, Falk, the Dane County who unsuccessfully ran for governor in the 2002 Dem gubernatorial primary, edged incumbent AG Peg Lautenschlager. Falk tallied 152 total votes, or 50.8 percent, to AG Lautenschlager's 144, or 48.2 percent.

Feingold, re-elected to a six-year Senate term in 2004, emerged as the top vote-getter on the presidential preference ballot with 98 votes, or 38.8 percent of the 299 total submitted for the presidential preference question. Hillary Clinton was next with 59 votes.

See more on last year's results.


--A list of probable candidates will appear in alphabetical order on a paper ballot for each question. A blank-line labeled "Other, Please specify" may follow the names.

--All convention delegates, alternates, and official guests will be eligible to vote. Only one vote may be cast per person. WisPolitics staff will stamp or otherwise mark the credentials of all voters and use other means to ensure nobody votes more than once.

--Ballots with more than one name marked under a question will not be counted. Ballots with an illegible write-in name will not be counted. WisPolitics will be the sole judge as to whether a ballot should be counted.

--The results will be counted by WisPolitics staff and released at www.wispolitics.com on Saturday, June 10.

See the questions:

Who is your choice in the Democratic primary for secretary of state?
_ Doug LaFollette
_ Scot Ross

Who is your choice in the Democratic primary for attorney general?
_ Kathleen Falk
_ Peg Lautenschlager

Which politician would be your preferred Democratic presidential candidate in 2008?
_ Evan Bayh
_ Joe Biden
_ Wes Clark
_ Hillary Clinton
_ John Edwards
_ Russ Feingold
_ Al Gore
_ John Kerry
_ Bill Richardson
_ Tom Vilsack
_ Mark Warner
_ Other, Please specify:


<< Back to Dem Convo Blog main page


wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


Updates from WisPolitics.com on Wisconsin's participation in Democratic conventions.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Dem Convo Blog site feed


· Democratic Party of Wisconsin website
· DPW convention page
· Convention agenda
· Convention hotel


· June 2005
· June 2006
· June 2007
· July 2007
· June 2008
· August 2008
· June 2009
· June 2010
· May 2011
· June 2011
· June 2012
· August 2012
· September 2012
· May 2013
· June 2013
· May 2014
· June 2014
· May 2015
· June 2015
· May 2016
· June 2016
· July 2016
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications