• WisPolitics

Saturday, June 10, 2006

 3:54 PM 

Lautenschlager, Ross & Feingold Favored in WisPolitics Dem Convo Straw Poll

Democratic activists voting in the annual WisPolitics.com Straw Poll this weekend favored Peg Lautenschlager for attorney general, Scot Ross for secretary of state and Russ Feingold for president.

Of the 548 delegates, alternates and guests who voted, 315 backed Lautenschlager for AG, or 57.5 percent, compared to 228, or 41.6 percent, for Falk. The rest did not express a preference.

In November, one of them will meet the winner of the Republican primary between former U.S. Attorney JB Van Hollen and Waukesha County DA Paul Bucher.

In the secretary of state primary, Ross was supported by 297, or 54.2 percent, compared to 205, or 37.4, percent for incumbent Doug LaFollette. The rest did not express a preference.

For president, Wisconsin’s junior U.S. senator overwhelmingly had the backing of the party faithful with 295 votes, or 53.8 percent. 2000 Dem nominee Al Gore was next with 55 votes, followed by Hillary Clinton (48) and John Edwards (41).

Last year in Oshkosh, Falk had not yet declared for the race, but she edged the incumbent Lautenschlager by eight votes. Of 299 ballots cast in that AG preference poll, Falk tallied 152 total votes, or 50.8 percent, to AG Lautenschlager's 144, or 48.2 percent. At that convention, Feingold emerged as the top vote-getter on the presidential preference ballot with 98 votes, or 38.8 percent of the 299 total submitted for the presidential preference question. Hillary Clinton was next with 59 votes. There was no straw poll on the secretary of state's race at last year's convention.

See the press release for detailed results.


<< Back to Dem Convo Blog main page


wispolitics.com Social News

Follow Us


Updates from WisPolitics.com on Wisconsin's participation in Democratic conventions.

Editor: JR Ross
Reporters: Chris Thompson, David Wise

· Dem Convo Blog site feed


· Democratic Party of Wisconsin website
· DPW convention page
· Convention agenda
· Convention hotel


· June 2005
· June 2006
· June 2007
· July 2007
· June 2008
· August 2008
· June 2009
· June 2010
· May 2011
· June 2011
· June 2012
· August 2012
· September 2012
· May 2013
· June 2013
· May 2014
· June 2014
· May 2015
· June 2015
· May 2016
· June 2016
· July 2016
Copyright ©2012 WisPolitics.com All rights reserved. | WisOpinion.com | WisBusiness.com  |  Website development by wisnet.com LLC  | Website design by Makin’ Hey Communications